Easy Pie

Recently, I picked up these Sally Hansen Salon Effects strips. I’ve tried this line before with good results. I was curious to see how the French Manicure line would fare since the white part usually chips off quickly, leaving you with a sad manicure. I tried the classic color, French Twist.

Sally Hansen Salon Effects in French Twist.

Sally Hansen Salon Effects in French Twist.

I applied a base coat and top coat even though the package says that you don’t need it. I find that doing so makes the strips last longer. The application process took longer than the normal Salon Effects because you have to position the white strip first and then apply the clear pink strip on top of it.

The manicure looks clean and natural.

The manicure looks clean and natural.

If you look closely at the thumb, you can see the gap between the clear pink coat and the cuticle.

If you look closely at the thumb, you can see the gap between the clear pink coat and the cuticle.

Surprisingly, these lasted around 1.5 weeks. The white part did not chip off until 5 days. Even while I was moving things, there were only a few chips. By the end of the first week, the nails began to grow out and you could see a visible gap. One complaint that I have is that it is easy for air bubbles to form when you apply the clear pink strip. Bubbles can also form in the area below the white strip so you have to make sure you press down on the strip.

Air bubble in my thumb.

Air bubble in my thumb.

After you put these strips on, it feels like your nails have gel nail polish on them. They look like you got them done at a salon but without having to pay the high salon prices. Overall, I like the natural and classic look of  the nail strips and would definitely get them again.

Rating: 9/10. Minus one point for the air bubbles.

