Uniqlo: Overhyped Asian clothes?

I remember the first time I stepped into a Uniqlo store very clearly. I was doing some after Christmas shopping in Downtown San Francisco and decided to check out their new store. Upon entering, I was met with an uncomfortably warm heat wave generating from the the vast amounts of people inside. There were flocks and flocks of mostly Asian people rummaging through piles of clothing everywhere. The store was a hot mess that had been thorougly picked through. The clothes were plain, basic items and I didn’t understand what the hype was.

Fast forward to almost 2 years later and a new Uniqlo has opened by my house. Because of my first visit I always referred to Uniqlo as “that store with plain clothes that all the Asians go crazy for.” Nevertheless, I decided to venture into Uniqlo again and was greeted by a nice girl and some really bright lights. Uniqlo has some extremely bright, unflattering lighting in their store. It’s as if they want to shock you into looking at all their bright, colorful clothes. I walked past a mirror and was shocked at how pale and ghostly I looked. This time though, there weren’t flocks of Asians fighting over plain looking clothes. I was able to try on a few of their items without too much of a hassle and decided on a jacket and sweatshirt. As I exited the store with my new items, I chuckled to myself because I do have a habit of buying things from stores that I claim to hate. Today, my black Uniqlo sweatshirt is one of my favorites. I have a similar one from Gap but it just doesn’t compare in quality and warmth.

Well Uniqlo, I guess I have changed my mind about you after giving you a second chance. I do secretly still think it’s an over hyped company with plain looking clothes but they’re good quality and have reason prices. I still really wish they would do something about their lighting though because it’s shockingly bright. I’ll revisit them again when I want to stock up on my basics and get blinded by some bright lights.

